Hall of Fame

Current most successful club athletes include Keith Gerrard, England and GB International. He has competed twice at the World Cross and once at Euro Cross. He has won international races on the continent and in 2006 was awarded IOM Under 21 Sportsman of Year at the presentation attended by ex-Olympic swimmer Sharon Davies.

Steve Partington has been the top ranked UK 50K race walker in the past. Steve has represented the Isle of Man at the past 6 Commonwealth Games and made 4 Race walking World Cup appearances.

In 2005 Sean Hands won the National 100 mile Walk Championships and in 2006 famously broke the 85 mile Parish Walk record which had previously stood for 27 years. Sean retained his 100 mile Walk Championship title in the Isle of Man in 2006

Graham Young came 4th place in the 1974 Commonwealth Games Walk

Elizabeth Corran was World Veteran Over 40 race walking Champion and record holder in 1996.

Manx Harriers have boasted a number of junior race walking champions and medalists at National level in the past with current top Junior walkers Lauren Whelan, Alex Eaton and Tom Partington continuing in their footsteps.

Steve Taylor has been appointed head racewalking judge for the London Olympics in 2012.

Other stars from the past include Brenda Walker (UK international road runner in 1990’s), Derek Harrison ultra distance walker (1970’s & 80’s) and Bill Kelly ultra runner (1950’s).

More coming soon.


Manx Harriers Life members.

Chris Quine
Petra Atchison
Tracey Bell
Anthony Brand
Phillip Bannon
Allan Callow
Irene Corlett
Elizabeth Corran
Ray Cox
Jenny Dowling
Andy Fox
Colin Halsall
Paul Jackson
Peter Lees
Bridget Kaneen
Niall McGarrigle
Bernie May
Terry McKay
Steve Partington
Bernie Shimell
Di Shimell
Steve Taylor
John Whitlow