Annual Awards

Every year Manx Harriers provides a number of annual awards in the memory of previous club members.

The Kevin Madigan Award

£75 is given to a young race walker who shows promise. Kevin was a member of Boundary Harriers and subsequently Manx Harriers. He was a race organiser, time keeper and general all round athletics enthusiast. Sadly he died suddenly from a heart condition.

The decision as to who gets the award comes from the Manx Harriers Walking sub-committee.

The Steve Jacobs Award

Two £150 awards are given to usually one male and one male young athlete but not necessarily. Steve was a member of Manx Harriers and was a talented middle distance runner. Unfortunately, he took his own life when in his early 20’s. Funds are raised in his memory through the Steve Jacobs Mile held during the summer track & field league.

The Manx Harriers committee decides on the recipients based on their ability, how well they train and support the club.

Louis Moore Award

A perpetual trophy and replica is awarded to a young athlete who may not be the best but tries really hard. We recognise those youngsters who may have a disability or is compromised in some way. It is to reward endeavour rather than achievement.

The Manx Harriers committee decides on the recipients.